Northern Ireland Tourist Board

How can we help?

Or browse

Community Planning

Councils in Northern Ireland have a statutory duty to lead on Community Planning as identified in the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 2014

Community Planning came into operation on 1st April 2015 as part of the full implementation of local government reform. Underpinning the reform of local government is the Executive’s vision of:

“…..a strong, dynamic local government creating communities that are vibrant, healthy, prosperous, safe, sustainable and have the needs of all citizens at their core.”

Community Planning ensures people and communities are genuinely engaged in the decisions which affect them; allied to a commitment from organisations to work together, in providing better public services. Specifically, it is about working towards long-term outcomes that will improve the social, economic and environmental wellbeing of a geographical area and the people who live here.

The Local Government Act places a duty on local authorities to initiate, facilitate and maintain community planning in their area and on the statutory partners (as named in supplementary legislation) to fully engage with the process. The Act also places a duty on statutory organisations and government departments to have regard for the Community Plan in the organisation and delivery of their functions.

Tourism NI is very proud to be involved as a statutory partner in Community Planning across all 11 Council areas and continues to work closely with partners in each local government area. Further detail on each of the 11 Community Plans can be found behind the relevant council logo below along with additional relevant information relating to Community Planning progress.


Local Councils:

         Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council        Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council                        Ards & North Down Borough Council               Belfast City Council


          Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council         Derry City and Strabane District Council                 Fermanagh and Omagh District Council           Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council 

                                  Mid & East Antrim Borough Council                      Mid Ulster District Council                       Newry, Mourne and Down District Council